Unmarried America
an information service for unmarried and single Americans


Home  -  Library One  -  Column One  -  About Us  -  Contact
 
 

 
 
Family Diversity is the Norm

 

News Stories About Unmarried America


Monday, December 10, 2007

CDC Report: 38.5% of births in 2006 were to unmarried parents

 


Richard W. Smith Lecture Series at Cal State Northridge

November 28 -- 7:00 p.m.  Open to the public.

 

Monday, November 12, 2007


New Commentary
 

Birth control activist warns young singles


 

Monday, November 5, 2007


New Commentary
 

Hundreds die from 'honor' killings in Iraq


 


Monday, October 29, 2007


New Commentary
 

More battles erupting over definition of family


 

Monday, October 15, 2007


New Commentary
 

Advice for friends buying a home together


 

Monday, October 8, 2007


New Commentary
 

Singles groups offering friendship, not matchmaking


 

Monday, October 1, 2007


New Commentary
 

Plenty of new books for single people


 

Monday, September 24, 2007


New Commentary
 

British sisters continue their battle for equal rights

 


Celebrating Unmarried and Single Americans Week -- September 16, 2007
House party for Alternatives to Marriage Project (AtMP) in Venice, CA

Nicky Grist, Executive Director of AtMP (left)
Dr. Bella DePaulo, author of "Singled Out"
Thomas F. Coleman, Executive Director, Unmarried America

 

Monday, September 17, 2007


New Commentary
 

Ranks of unmarried adults reach 100 million mark


 

Monday, September 10, 2007


New Commentary
 

Critic says new employee benefits laws hurt families

 

 

Tuesday, September 4, 2007

Census report shows unmarried households retain majority status

 

Monday, September 3, 2007


New Commentary
 

List of 'best cities for singles' is quite misleading

 

Monday, August 27, 2007


New Commentary
 

Census Bureau promotes 'singles week'

 

Monday, August 20, 2007


New Commentary
 

More info on 'singles week' events

 

 

Monday, August 13, 2007


New Commentary
 

National group to host 'singles week' events

 

 

Monday, August 6, 2007


New Commentary
 

Doctors seek exemption from civil rights laws

 

 

Monday, July 30, 2007


New Commentary
 

One victory, one loss for the unmarried this month

 

 

Monday, July 23, 2007


New Commentary
 

Unmarried father's rights protected in Florida


 

Monday, July 16, 2007


New Commentary
 

America less focused on kids, more on adults


 

Monday, July 2, 2007


New Commentary
 

New political report focuses on unmarried voters


 

Monday, June 25, 2007


New Commentary
 

Ballot measures triggering an expansion of benefits


 

Monday, June 18, 2007


New Commentary
 

Marketers notice influence of single consumers


 

Monday, June 11, 2007


New Commentary
 

California considers marital status options


 

Monday, June 4, 2007


New Commentary
 

States expanding health care for young singles


 

Monday, May 28, 2007


New Commentary
 

Thomas Coleman is on vacation this week.


 

Monday, May 21, 2007


New Commentary
 

Letters from readers of Column One


 

Monday, May 14, 2007


New Commentary
 

Debates over unmarried adoptions heating up


 

Monday, May 7, 2007


New Commentary
 

Happy Mother's Day, Grandma


 

Monday, April 30, 2007


New Commentary
 

Single women take large share of homebuyer market


 

Monday, April 23, 2007


New Commentary
 

Spouseless weddings with solo vows not catching on


 

Monday, April 16, 2007


New Commentary
 

Unmarried need global human rights monitor


 

Monday, April 9, 2007


New Commentary
 

More single men using surrogates to have kids


 

Monday, April 2, 2007


New Commentary
 

Better housing for single sailors on horizon

 

 

Monday, March 26, 2007


New Commentary
 

Bills would expand family leave coverage


 

Monday, March 19, 2007


New Commentary
 

Sexual abstinence message not working


 

Monday, March 12, 2007


New Commentary
 

World's oldest man a life-long singleton

 

Monday, March 5, 2007


New Commentary
 

North Dakota leaves privacy invaders list


 

Monday, February 26, 2007


New Commentary
 

Unmarried officer denied leave for child's birth


 

Monday, February 19, 2007


New Commentary
 

Michigan court provides loophole in benefits ruling

 

 

Tuesday, February 13, 2007



Thomas F. Coleman attends book signing/reading at Book Soup bookstore in West
Hollywood, California on February 12.  The store featured Dr. Bella De Paulo, author
of "Singled Out: How Singles are Stereotyped, Stigmatized, and Ignored, and Still
Live Happily Ever After."

 

Monday, February 12, 2007


New Commentary
 

More Anti-Valentine's Day promotions this year


 

Monday, February 5, 2007


New Commentary
 

British sisters to appeal human rights ruling


 

Monday, January 29, 2007


New Commentary
 

Justice Department protects unmarried borrowers


 

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

  • The following story was added to the News About Us section of the website today:
    -- He helps other people find a soul mate

 

Monday, January 22, 2007


New Commentary
 

Media distorts census data on single women

 


Thursday, January 18, 2007

 

Thomas F. Coleman, Executive Director of Unmarried America,
was a guest today on the talk radio show of Eliza Sonneland.
Eliza (pictured on the left) has a show on KAHL 1310 in San
Antonio, Texas.

 

 

 

Tuesday, January 16, 2007

NPR Home Page'Marketplace' Report: Economics of Single Workers

Listen to this story... 

Recent census data show that more than half of U.S. women are living without a spouse. Click on the link above to hear Marketplace's Amy Scott talk with Alex Chadwick about how this trend could shape the ways government and employers distribute benefits.


Monday, January 15, 2007


New Commentary
 

Fed minimum wage hike would help singles


 

Monday, January 8, 2007


New Commentary
 

California considers expanding its anti-discrimination laws


 

Tuesday, January 2, 2007

  • The following story was added to the News About Us section of the website today:
    -- Alone no more, singles fight for their rights
    -- The art of not saying "I do"
    -- Sharing the ride

What's New -- April to December 2006